How To Stop Outlook 2010 Downloading Duplicate Emails

Posted: December 10, 2010 in Business, Computer, How To
Tags: , , , ,

Slight deviation from our normal blog posts. This post is for anyone who’s just installed Outlook 2010 and is finding that they are getting duplicate downloads of emails. I installed Outlook 2010 myself a couple of days ago, upgrading from Outlook Express and since then have received duplicate emails. Here is one solution to this problem if you have alias email addresses set up. I’ll use my set up as an example:

I have 2 email addresses set up for my business like this:

  1. morgan@my_business.co.nz
  2. info@my_business.co.nz (this is an alias on the same my_business.co.nz domain. The messages are stored on the same mail server as my other address.)

During the upgrade from Outlook Express, Outlook 2010 recognized these are linked by the same domain and switched “Leave a copy of messages on server” on for both of them. The result of this when receiving emails is:

  1. Outlook checks for mail from morgan@my_business.co.nz, downloads them and then leaves a copy on the mail server
  2. It then checks for mail on info@my_business.co.nz and downloads the emails that have been left on the server again.

This problem is really easy to fix. If you have a similar set up follow the instructions below to eliminate duplicates:

  1. In Outlook 2010 click on the [File] tab and select [Options] –> [Advanced] (note that these both appear in the left hand panel as opposed to the old style drop down menus)
  2. Scroll down to the “Send and receive” section and click on the [Send/Receive…] button.
  3. In the dialogue box that appears click to highlight “All Accounts” in the Group Name field and then [Edit…]
  4. From the left hand side of the dialogue box click on the account to be edited then select [Account Properties]
  5. Select the [Advanced] tab
  6. In the “Delivery” section untick “Leave a copy of messages on the server”
  7. [OK]
  8. Repeat from Step 4 for additional aliases.

Good luck!

Morgan :-)

Comments
  1. Robyn Carter says:

    You could just leave them, and get the duplicate emails. It may be a pain, but you could convince yourself that you’re just really popular lol!

  2. Or it could make you feel really stressed out every time you get invoices and there are multiple copies to be paid!

    M :-)

  3. Silv says:

    All fixed. The dupes was driving me insane. Thanks for the tip.

  4. Peter says:

    OK, but it did not happen in 2003 or 2007. NO DUPLICATES.

  5. Robyn says:

    I had to use this tonight when my email stopped working! Completely. Fixed now!! Thank goodness :)

  6. ruth says:

    Fix doesn’t work when one needs to leave the messages on the server to synchronize with other PCs

  7. Pete says:

    This does not take into account the case where you want to download the e-mail to 2 devices, in which case you must leave a copy on the server for the other device to download.
    I have also an issue that Outlook incorporates the user profile with the message Id to identify uniqueness, so 2 profiles accessing the one server creates duplicate downloads.

  8. Hi Pete and Ruth, you are right. I didn’t intend to write this post to be a comprehensive answer for all situations. As I don’t need to deal with email for more than one device or leave messages on the server I have only written about my own experience with downloading to a single computer. So my post is intended for anyone else in a similar situation (i.e. someone with alias addresses who needs to download to a single device and not needing to share copies elsewhere). Admittedly, the use of multiple devices has increased dramatically since I wrote this post, however, I will not be updating this post as Microsoft systems are not my specialty.

    The best place to find out about anything I haven’t written about here is of course Microsoft’s help services. Sorry I cannot advise you further on the other issues you have mentioned. Hope you find a solution from Microsoft easily.

  9. Bruce Campbell says:

    When you’re editing your “All Accounts” Send/Receive settings simply uncheck the alias to remove it from the group.

  10. Josh says:

    Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

  11. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and
    i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot
    of spam remarks? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or
    anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving
    me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

